top of page

The Founder's Award

- Dr. E Urner Goodman

"He who serves his fellows, is, of all his fellows, greatest


Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder's Award was created to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to the lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowmen who demonstrates to fellow Arrowmen that he or she demonstrates in his or her everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson.


Lodges may petition the national Order of the Arrow Committee to present up to four awards annually, based on lodge membership. If the lodge presents more than one award, one must be to a youth under the age of 21.


The Award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and co-founder Carroll A. Edson, with wooden base and brass plate suitable for engraving. Also available is a special Founder's Award arrow ribbon, with a gold colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon.

Want to nominate?

If you wish to nominate an individual for the Founder's Award please complete the nomination form found here. Nomination forms are due to the Nentico Lodge Awards Committee Chairperson by Friday night of the annual Nentico Lodge Fall Fellowship. Recipients will be announced at the Nentico Lodge Banquet.

Nentico Lodge 12 Founder's Award Recipients from the Harford Chapter

1989 Anthony Roman

1989 Richard Trznadel

1994 Gerald Hinkle

1998 David Weissert

1999 Jason Porrovicchio

1999 Reed Blom

2000 Steve Hall

2000 Ken Osterritter

2000 William Russell

2000 David Wolfkill Sr.

2001 Ray Wise

2003 Robert Erhardt

2004 John Crowe IV

2006 John Crowe III

2007 Joseph Hurley

2007 AJ Eckstein

2008 Kenneth Hawley

2012 Ryan Kivinski

2012 Michael Phillips

2013 Brendan Wright

2013 Nolan Phillips

bottom of page